Starting the school year

First off let me say I hope you and the family are OK and safe down in the Baton Rouge area. If there is anything I can do, though it would probably have to be air dropped in or brought in by fan boat, then let me know.

So yes, I slacked off last week and didn’t write a damned word. There is no excuse even though it was a frantic week of gathering materials for the kids so they had everything they needed for school. I could be wrong, but I don’t remember having to have all that shit to get an education. Notebooks, pens, paper, maybe a kleenex travel packet, loose leaf paper, a calculator, protractor, and that’s probably it. Of course I wasn’t the one buying any of it so why would I remember, but damn. I know it was over $500 worth of stuff not to mention the school fees associated sending a kid to learn.  But, that’s what it’s like these days, I guess.

The main thing to establish now is the daily routine.

Get up early.

Make sure the kids are up in time to get dressed, eat, take a shower (if needed), gather any belonging they didn’t take care of the day before, and get on the bus.

Take the oldest to high school.

Go to work.

Then there are the afternoon rituals. Some of this responsibility is placed on the kids shoulders like home work. Some of it has to do with what they are into. The oldest has band practice on certain days, the middle child has dance on a certain day, the youngest has football practice on certain days. Thankfully most of the extra curricular activities take place after 5:30, except for band (some of the time). Then comes football season. Friday evenings and Saturdays will be occupied by games to support once child or another in their efforts to contribute to their school’s whatever.

I don’t want this to come off as though I’m bitching about it. I’m not. I’m glad they are busy. I’m glad they are attempting different things as they try to figure out what they are really into, and what type of person that makes them. Even though I look at my son and have the thought, “you and me are probably going to get into a fist fight some day.” Which is saying something because the last fight I was in a fight was in first or second grade. I’m sure that can change though, and he still has plenty of growing up to do. He’s 8, so even if he does try I think I can take him.

In other news: I finished Mississippi Mud, you should check it out. I would try to describe it, but I think the book synopsis in the link will do a better job. Plus, I don’t feel like doing a book report on the moment. I’m currently reading/listening to War Dogs. The movie looked entertaining, is based on a true story, and I didn’t realize it was based on a book originally titled “Arms and The Dudes.” I just started this one so we’ll see how it turns out. In addition to these books I’ve picked up the new Harry Potter book, an actual copy and not an audio book. Actually it’s not a book, it is a play. So far I’ve read Act One, and it seems to be pretty damn good.

That’s all for now. Take care.

Leave a comment